When tough times Hit and Remembering What’s Really Important.

Phew! 5 days without power, no wi-fi, barely any cellphone reception, no walking dead, no office, and most importantly no lights when I want them?! I’m barely survived. Of course that being said, in the most important ways it’s been some of the best days I’ve had in a long time. You see, it’s times like this, when you have no distractions that you realize what life was really meant to be all about. My dad has been home, my brother has been home, we’ve had our second family (our next door neighbors) over every day since the power has been out. My grandma who lives in the addition we built has been in the house every day as well. Now you would think we would be sick of each other, fighting all day, but in fact it’s been just the opposite. It feels almost….natural to be together this much. Because we don’t have T.V, internet, or video games, we were forced to hangout with each other. Never in my life have we played so much poker, rummy, or catchphrase, and I don’t think my family has laughed so much together in the past year than we have these past days. To be honest, I wish this was life consistent. Waking up to a full house, hanging out, talking about everything, random games of poker, all with family, it’s almost like a glimpse of how we were originally designed to live.

 

It’s interesting because I’ve never so clearly been able to contrast American life from God’s life. Don’t get me wrong, we are blessed in America, we have whatever we need whenever we need it, but it’s hard to see how demanding the American way of life is when you’re in the thick of it. However, once something comes along to shake things up a little, we quickly realize what’s important. We quickly realize how much more enjoyable life can be with family when we aren’t pulled in to our own little worlds and are pulled together. Times where our comfortable bubble is popped forces us to spend time with people that take we take for granted. It has been a great three days in our house, full of community, and I’d take that any day over internet.

 

Look, I know that Hurricane Sandy did a lot of damage to a lot of people. My house went 5 days without power but this pales in comparison to the people who lost their homes. I’m not trying to say that you should be grateful for natural disasters like this. I’m simply trying to find the silver lining in a very tough time for the East Coast. Use this time (if you’re so fortunate) to spend time with the people in your life you take for granted. Not only is it a good idea, it’s healthy because it’s how life is designed to be. I think we can learn from the Eastern world and their family values. For the eastern world, family is one of the highest priority’s. Their life doesn’t revolve around a career, it revolves around their family, and their extended families. In fact even here in the states I’ve met families from India that all live together. Their mother, father, son, his wife, daughter, her husband, all living together in the same house. I used to think they were crazy, then my power went out for three days and I realized I was the crazy one.

Leave a Reply

