Apathy

Apathy.  Dictonary.com defines apathy as: 1. Absence or suppression of passion, emotion, or excitement.  2. Lack of interest in or concern for things that others find moving or exciting.

I feel the world is drowning in apathy.  It’s very sad because I believe we all are victims of this at some point.  People have decided to turn their back on the world.  Is this because as a nation we have become so numb from all the violence and disaster?  I don’t think that is it.

We assume if people aren’t “worthy” of our respect or time, then they don’t matter.  I work in healthcare.  It is one of the most rewarding and difficult things to do.  I have patients come in all the time who are in pain, serious pain.  Now you get a couple here and there trying to abuse the system who exaggerate their symptoms.  But for the most part they are really hurting.  Now these are human beings. They have worries, dreams, families, anxiety and many other emotions similar to us all.  That is important.  These are people like me who love and hurt.  And their life is just as important as mine.

Selfishness I feel is deeply rooted in this.  We are fed this “self made man mentality.”  The old do it on your own cause no one is going to help you.  Or the system is set up for you to fail.  Give me a break.  I am NOT a self made man.  I am wonderfully made in the image of my Creator and all the people I have met in my life have impacted me and are a product of who I am.  The “system” did not set me up to fail.  In fact, it gave me a loan so I could get through college and currently work in a field I love (yes I know there are plenty of exceptions where people have been screwed over though).  I had plenty of people have helped me spiritually, mentally, and physically.  I would be a liar if I said I was a self made man.  It is however easy to see apathy lurking at every corner with that outlook in life.  If we think the the world is out to get us, then why would we care for the world?

Jesus said to love our enemies and to pray for those who persecute us.  No apathy there.  Yes that person may be a jerk and may absolutely hate you, but lets not think that God’s grace is not strong enough to change them.  The world is hurting, so lets be a light, not add to the darkness.

~Kyle

2 responses to “Apathy

  1. Dude, you nailed it! I have always said that hate is not the opposite of love, apathy is. We are called to actively love! In the words of DC Talk “love is a verb!” When did Christians lose that? Why are we spiraling out of control with the world?

    Thanks for the kick in the butt, Kyle!

Leave a Reply

