God and Science? -Rob

Romans is probably my favorite book. I was reading today and this really struck me:

“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth. For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse. For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools, and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man and birds and animals and creeping things.”
~Romans 1:18-23

Now, I am very interested in the field of science. If I could do what I wanted I would return to school and get my graduate degree in Astronomy and Astrophysics. I love studying the universe. I have felt a burden in Christian circles about the negative attitude toward “science”. I am of the belief that science in no way contradicts the Bible and in fact supports it. God is the author of science after all; He made the laws which govern our universe. The outcry against “science” is perhaps why there is such a division between science and the Bible when really I don’t see why they cannot agree. Now, before this turns into a debate I will stop there. What is my point?

Above we have what I consider “a message to scientists.” God has shown each person the grandeur of himself since the creation of the world. God created us as investigatory beings and as we discover, probe, investigate, and question everything should really bring us right back to God, it is plain to see. What I find striking is “for although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him.” Is this not what scientists do today? Before the discovery begins, and maybe a pre-step of the scientific process is to rule out the possibility of God. Even when all evidence is pointing directly at a Creator it is automatically assumed it cannot be. Look at great minds like Richard Dawkins, Stephen Hawking, etc. Minds that are consumed by the search of something to explain away God. Paul tells us that their foolish hearts are darkened and claiming to be wise they become fools.

I got encouragement from this in two ways. First it reassured me that science reveals God, not denies. Also, although these men of science are very intelligent, we must not take their knowledge into account when talking about the credibility of the Bible. We can clearly see and understand that God created all things so that He might reveal Himself in everything! If God is denied it is only because of the their unrighteousness suppressing the truth! Let our God speak in the science He created!

2 responses to “God and Science? -Rob

  1. Hi Rob,

    Random reader here. Nice post. I too am very interested in science. Love to stay up to date on the latest theories and breakthroughs, especially with regards to astronomy and physics.

    As a Christian who loves science, I’ve always felt in an awkward position. Stuck between the “You must be an idiot to believe in God” science crowd and the “All you need is faith” Christian crowd. It is nice to know that there are others with the same interest.

    It is funny that I read this blog just after I read the description from Lawrence Krauss’ new book “A Universe from Nothing”. It is described as: “A fascinating antidote to outmoded philosophical and religious thinking, A Universe from Nothing is a provocative, game-changing entry into the debate about the existence of God and everything that exists. “Forget Jesus,” Krauss has argued, “the stars died so you could be born.”

    I’m pretty sure a statement like that is exactly what Romans 1:18-23 is referring to. It is a shame that such intelligent minds spend so much effort on trying to refute God’s existence, as if it somehow discredits their work. People often refer to Christians as “close-minded”. But isn’t it being close-minded to rule out the possibility of a Creator? Wouldn’t it be THAT much more exciting if there was a being powerful and intelligent enough to create this universe? I don’t know, that’s just how I see it.

    It’s too bad you can’t go back to graduate school for Astronomy or Astrophysics. I think it is vital for Christians to be knowledgeable in these areas (rather than shun them), if we want to be able to have any type of open discussion about Jesus with more “science-oriented” thinkers.

    – Jim

  2. Jim,

    So glad to hear from a fellow science lover. I come from a background where most would hold the young earth creationist view. So of course, growing up I learned to accept that the Earth was miraculously made by God around 6000 years ago in a literal week. I was very firm in my belief. Then I went off to college to study Mechanical Engineering. During my college years I took a keen interest in the study of the universe. I often neglected my classwork because I was learning about what was above us. I remember sitting in my Thermodynamics 210 class thinking “Where does the Bible say those days were 24 hours long and that it was 6000 years ago that the Earth was formed? The data for a Big-Bang is overwhelming but scientists don’t know how the Big Bang started.” The man who first proposed the Big-Bang was actually a creationist (an ordained priest – George Lemaître). I wondered why couldn’t both of these things be true? Why couldn’t God create the universe in a Big-Bang? I started to more deeply study the creation accounts of scripture (Genesis 1-2; Job 9, 34-38; Psalm 8, 19, 33, 65, 104; Proverbs 8; Ecclesiastes 1-3; Isaiah 40-51; Romans 1-8; Hebrews 1, 4; 2 Peter 3; Revelation 20-22)
    The more I studied the more I became convinced that the Big Bang was not conflicting with the Bible but like Romans 1:18-23 states, the science reveals the majesty of God! It is the scientists that suppress the truth. When I look at the scientific discoveries that place our planet in its uniqueness and rarity, that display the fine-tuning of our universe for life on ONE planet, and show the power and wisdom of the creator, I can’t help but give God his due glory and honor!

    I read lots on this topic and I have given a lecture on “The Incredible Universe” and this weekend I am giving a few lectures on “The Possibility of Life.” The search for life on Mars and in the universe.

    If science goes against the Bible, then obviously I go with the Bible always! But everything I have compared lines up with scripture. While I don’t want to force my view on anyone, I also think it is dangerous to throw kids that grow up only hearing about a young earth creation out into a science based world where their story really has no standing. Surely they can rely on faith but a scientist will dismiss your argument. I don’t believe I have compromised my belief at all to “suit the science.” But I also don’t think we need to ignore science and think its WRONG WRONG WRONG! Like I said, I discovered that the science I was learning lined up with the Bible! I see nothing wrong with that!

    Thanks for your comments Jim! Hopefully you will feel free to continue reading our blog! I can’t speak for the others who will post that they feel the same way about science as I do, but that is ok 🙂

    -Rob

Leave a Reply

